• ATHENA Project

    Fostering Sustainable and Autonomous
    Higher Education Systems
    in the Eastern Neighbouring Area

  • Focus

    University autonomy and funding reforms
    in Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine

  • Objectives

    Transfer of good practice
    Promotion of inclusive approaches
    Capacity building in university management


First ATHENA Training Seminar to be held in Helsinki

On 30 April 2014, the first Training Seminar as part of the ATHENA project will be held at the University of Helsinki, Finland. At the event we will welcome delegates from our partner universities, ministries of higher education and the national rectors’ conferences in Armenia, Moldova, and Ukraine, alongside representatives from our host partner universities, the University of Helsinki and Haaga‐Helia University of Applied Sciences.

The aim of the event is building capacity by disseminating examples of good practice in the field of financial management. Practitioners from our two host partner universities will present their experiences in this field, with the aim of enabling delegates from Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine to promote good financial management in their own institutions. The preliminary event programme can be found here.

Please note that this is not an open event and participation is restricted to project partners. Selected delegates should already have been contacted by their national coordinators regarding attendance and will receive further information about logistical arrangements in due course.

This training seminar will be followed by two more in Coimbra, Portugal, and Amsterdam, Netherlands.

  • Yerevan State University
  • Gavar State University
  • State Engineering University of Armenia
  • State Universities Rectors Council of Armenia
  • Ministry of Education and Science of Armenia
  • Academy of Economic Studies of Moldova
  • Cahul State University
  • Free International University of Moldova
  • National Council of Rectors of Moldova
  • Ministry of Education of Moldova
  • Taras Shevchenko National University of Kiev
  • Donetsk National University
  • Odessa National University
  • Lesya Ukrainka Eastern European National University
  • Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine
  • University of Coimbra
  • Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra
  • University of Helsinki
  • Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences
  • University of Amsterdam
  • European University Association