• ATHENA Project

    Fostering Sustainable and Autonomous
    Higher Education Systems
    in the Eastern Neighbouring Area

  • Focus

    University autonomy and funding reforms
    in Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine

  • Objectives

    Transfer of good practice
    Promotion of inclusive approaches
    Capacity building in university management


Bilateral and consortium meetings held to discuss ATHENA progress

On the fringes of the recent ATHENA training seminar at the University of Coimbra and Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra, bilateral meetings were held with each of the national delegations. These were used as an opportunity to discuss the important points arising from recent legislative reform and from the development of the ATHENA Policy Roadmaps.

IMG 1200

IMG 1204Intense discussions within the delegations and with the coordinator helped identify common priorities; for Armenia and Moldova, it was agreed that the most pressing issues are related to organisation autonomy, with in addition for Moldova the challenge of introducing performance-based funding mechanisms. In Moldova and in Ukraine, a particular emphasis was also placed on the need for newly passed legislation to be implemented in practice in the sector, and to develop the adequate regulations to do so.

In addition to these bilateral meetings, an ATHENA project consortium meeting was held on 5 November, with representatives of partner institutions from all three partner countries present. The next steps for the project IMG 1212were discussed, including the last training seminar in Amsterdam, the toolkits and the Benchmarking Forum, which will take place in Yerevan, Armenia, in May 2015.


IMG 1224

  • Yerevan State University
  • Gavar State University
  • State Engineering University of Armenia
  • State Universities Rectors Council of Armenia
  • Ministry of Education and Science of Armenia
  • Academy of Economic Studies of Moldova
  • Cahul State University
  • Free International University of Moldova
  • National Council of Rectors of Moldova
  • Ministry of Education of Moldova
  • Taras Shevchenko National University of Kiev
  • Donetsk National University
  • Odessa National University
  • Lesya Ukrainka Eastern European National University
  • Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine
  • University of Coimbra
  • Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra
  • University of Helsinki
  • Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences
  • University of Amsterdam
  • European University Association